CONTOOCOOK & NORTH BRANCH RIVERS LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Annual Report • 2019

The Contoocook & North Branch Rivers Local Advisory Committee, (CNBRLAC) completed a very productive year in 2019 with a full slate of meetings, events and monitoring activities for the Contoocook and North Branch River communities.

Established in 1988, the CNBRLAC represents the fourteen communities of Antrim, Bennington, Boscawen, Concord, Deering, Greenfield, Hancock, Henniker, Hillsborough, Hopkinton, Jaffrey, Peterborough, Rindge, and Stoddard through its statutory duties including permit review and management plan coordination. The CNBRLAC provides a voice for the Contoocook and North Branch River towns and cities through the river's designation in the New Hampshire Rivers Management and Protection Program. The CNBRLAC updates the *Contoocook and North Branch Rivers Corridor Management Plan* (CNBRCMP) (https://www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/wmb/rivers/documents/ctc-plan.pdf) and coordinates the activities in it.

The CNBRLAC reviewed and provided local comment on nearly two dozen proposed projects for Wetlands, Shorelands or Alteration of Terrain permit applications within the Contoocook and North Branch Rivers watersheds. Major projects included a large housing project in Concord, a proposed roundabout and new river crossing of Route 202 in Jaffrey, a major retail expansion in Jaffrey and several NHDOT or public utility maintenance operations in Antrim, Boscawen and Henniker. In addition, alterations or additions to several single family home projects in Antrim, Bennington, Henniker, Hillsborough, Hopkinton, Jaffrey and Rindge were reviewed. A pesticide application and hazardous waste processing permits were commented on in Hillsborough and Hopkinton.

The VRAP Monitoring Program marked its twenty-first year in 2019. The VRAP Monitoring Program depends on the high quality work of many volunteers each year who monitor river and stream health on Contoocook and North Branch Rivers and their tributaries at over twenty sites between Rindge and Concord. During the summer, volunteers collect river water samples and record the results of in-field testing. The resulting data are used to determine the condition of the on-going water quality of the rivers. The information is shared with municipalities and other local officials for their health officers' and other local officials' use, as well as to the State of New Hampshire and the US Congress.

Elected officers Matt Lundsted, Chair; John Haley, Treasurer and Marco Philippon, Secretary were reelected in 2019. Two sub-committees were established this year. One to address the increasing and ongoing threats to our environment, the river and wildlife from the impacts of plastics. The other subcommittee was established to develop and populate a website for the CNBRLAC, please visit https://cnbrlac.org/. Special thanks to river lover Luciano Lipari for his volunteer creation and maintenance of our website.

The CNBRLAC work would not be possible without the generosity of all fourteen of its municipal supporters. Their support assures that the program has the resources that it needs to continue. Special thanks goes to Monadnock Mills as they provide the committee with a monthly meeting space which provides for a consistent venue with convenient accommodations.

The CNBLAC meets monthly at the Monadnock Mills in Bennington every third Monday at 7:00 PM. Thank you to the Towns of Bennington, Boscawen, Deering, Greenfield, Hillsborough, Jaffrey, Peterborough, Rindge, and Stoddard for their financial support during the past year. All are welcome to attend the meetings. For further information, please contact Matt Lundsted, Chair via telephone at 603.424.8444, email at mlundsted@ceiengineers.com or through your representatives listed below.

Antrim

Rod Zwirner

John Haley

Bennington Joe MacGregor Jon Manley

Boscawen Thomas Gilmore

Concord Marco Philippon Jack Shields

Deering Tim Finn Greenfield Roger Lessard

Henniker Mark Mitch

Hancock

Hillsborough Richard McNamara

Hopkinton Bonnie Christie Jaffrey

Carolyn Garretson Jim Webster

Peterborough Matt Lundsted Beth Alpaugh-Cote

Rindge Brian Maloy Bill Preston

Stoddard Ruth Ward