CONTOOCOOK & NORTH BRANCH RIVERS LOCAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE

Annual Report • 2018

The Contoocook & North Branch Rivers Local Advisory Committee, (CNBRLAC) completed a very productive year in 2018 with a full slate of meetings, events, monitoring activities, public programs, for the Contoocook and North Branch River communities.

Established in 1988, the CNBRLAC represents the fourteen communities of Antrim, Bennington, Boscawen, Concord, Deering, Greenfield, Hancock, Henniker, Hillsborough, Hopkinton, Jaffrey, Peterborough, Rindge, and Stoddard through its statutory duties including permit review and management plan coordination. The CNBRLAC provides a voice for the Contoocook and North Branch River towns and cities through the river's designation in the New Hampshire Rivers Management and Protection Program. The CNBRLAC updates the *Contoocook and North Branch Rivers Corridor Management Plan* (CNBRCMP) (https://www.des.nh.gov/organization/divisions/water/wmb/rivers/documents/ctc-plan.pdf) and coordinates the activities in it.

The CNBRLAC reviewed and provided local comment on over two dozen proposed projects for Wetlands, Shorelands or Alteration of Terrain permit applications within the Contoocook and North Branch Rivers watersheds. Major projects included Bridge and Roadway improvement projects and the Library Renovation in Peterborough, Azalea Park improvements in Henniker as well as two Sand and Gravel operations, a proposed Walmart in Hillsborough, the Antrim Wind Project, a major retail expansion in Jaffrey and several single family home projects in Antrim, Hancock, Henniker, Hillsborough and Rindge. In addition, pesticide application and hazardous waste processing permits were commented on in Hillsborough and Hopkinton.

Non-statutory or discretionary programs include a variety of studies, planning activities, and programs related to the Contoocook and North Branch Rivers and its watershed. Amy Smagula of NHDES continues to prepare an Aquatic Invasives Management Plan for the Rivers.

The VRAP Monitoring Program marked its twentieth year in 2018. The CNBRCMP depends on the high quality work of many volunteers each year who monitor river and stream health on Contoocook and North Branch Rivers and their tributaries at a total of 67 sites from Rindge to Concord. During the summer, volunteers collect river water samples. The resulting data are used to determine the condition of the on-going water quality of the rivers. The information is shared with municipalities and other local officials for their health officers' and other local officials' use, as well as to the State of New Hampshire and the US Congress.

Elected officers Matt Lundsted, Chair; John Haley, Treasurer and Marco Philippon, Secretary were reelected in 2018. Several new members from existing communities and some not previously represented joined CNBRLAC this year including representatives from Deering and Hopkinton.

The CNBRLAC work would not be possible without the generosity of all fourteen of its municipal supporters. Their support assures that the program has the resources that it needs to continue. Special thanks goes to Monadnock Mills as they provide the committee with a monthly meeting space which provides for a consistent venue with convenient accommodations.

The CNBLAC meets monthly at the Monadnock Mills in Bennington every third Monday at 7:00 PM. Thank you to the Towns and Cities of Antrim, Bennington, Boscawen, Concord, Deering, Greenfield, Hancock, Henniker, Hillsborough, Hopkinton, Jaffrey, Peterborough, Rindge, and Stoddard for their financial support during the past year. All are welcome to attend the meetings. For further information, please contact Matt Lundsted, Chair via telephone at 603.424.8444, email at mlundsted@ceiengineers.com or through your representatives listed below.

Antrim Greenfield Jaffrey

Carolyn Garretson Rod Zwirner Roger Lessard Jim Webster

John Haley Bennington Hancock Peterborough

Joe MacGregor Matt Lundsted Jon Manley Beth Alpaugh-Cote

Henniker Boscawen Mark Mitch Rindge Thomas Gilmore Brian Maloy

Bill Preston Hillsborough Concord Richard McNamara

Marco Philippon Stoddard Hopkinton Ruth Ward

Jack Shields Bonnie Christie Deering Tim Finn